| Gallery | Photo | News | Bmw | Ford | Nissan | Honda |

The Mazda 787B, winning the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1991, became a legend

The Mazda 787B, winning the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1991, has been selected to enter the "Legende du Mans" and thus be put in the spotlight with 10 other cars racing at the celebration of 90 years of the 24 Hours of Le Mans in the month of June.

The Automobile Club de l'Ouest (ACO), the race organizer, has launched a major consultation on the Internet and social networks to elect the ten most prestigious in the history of the 24 Hours of Le Mans cars. Over 20 000 people vote on the dedicated web page "Le Mans 24 Hours 2013-90 years! - Vote for the legend! " 30 iconic cars from ten cars have been elected as one by decade.

A jury of international specialists, up under the chairmanship of Pierre Fillon, President of the Automobile Club de l'Ouest, met on 1 February to finalize the election. The jury was composed of Jean Todt, president of the FIA, the famous Le Mans winners Emanuele Pirro and Yannick Dalmas, Norbert Singer Porsche engineer, actor and race car driver Patrick Dempsey and American English correspondent Gary Watkins Autosport .

On the decade of 90 years, the jury could not decide between the Mazda 787B and the Peugeot 905 - they will therefore both elevated to the status of "Legend".

Mazda is still the only Japanese manufacturer to have won the 24 Hours of Le Mans endurance race deemed the most difficult in the world. In 1991, Mazda made the demonstration of its ability to defy convention by writing a very beautiful page in the history of motorsport thanks to the victory of his 787B and its rotary engine. This car 700ch, which could reach 340 km / h, was led by English Johnny Herbert, Volker Weidler and Bertrand with Gachot. The 787B effected 362 laps (4,933 kms) smoothly at an average speed of 205 km / h until the checkered flag.

The COA plans to convene a copy of each legendary car for a series of events before the ordeal June 2013 as well as a tour of the famous parade Sarthe circuit before the departure of the planned 24-proof 22 and 23 June.

In parallel the activities of competition Mazda, Mazda North America has developed, in cooperation with Mazda Corporation, a competition version of the new 2.2 diesel engine SKYACTIV has the attention of teams competing at Le Mans in the LMP2 category.

11 Legends of Le Mans cars

1920s: Bentley Speed ​​6

1930s: Alfa Romeo 8C

1940s: Ferrari 166MM

1950s: Jaguar D-Type

1960s: Ford GT40

1970s: Porsche 917K

1980s: Porsche 956

1990s: Mazda 787B and Peugeot 905

2000s: Audi R10 TDI

Years 2010: Audi R18 e-tron quattro

Source: Mazda France

The Mazda 787B, winning the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1991, became a legend picture #1

Read also: recent reviews, test drives, automotive trends and the latest news from the world of cars.


Read more about:

Popular News

View more:

More Popular Images
© 2014: All rights protected.
Contacts Google Sitemap